Choosing a medical assistant program is easier when the facts sit side by side. Length, cost, accreditation and externship hours differ a lot from school to school.
Below are nine online and hybrid medical assistant programs, with details taken from each school’s own program page and checked on November 2, 2026. A free comparison sheet lets you pick your programs and print or copy the result.
AdvertisementSchools change prices, dates and rules, so confirm every detail with admissions before you enroll. This page is a guide, not an endorsement, and no school paid to be included.
9 Online and Hybrid Medical Assistant Programs
Quick jump: Herzing UniversityDurham TechGreenfield CCCoffeyville CCKellogg CCSoutheast TechSouth HillsUltimate Medical AcademyIvy TechFree medical assistant program comparison sheet
Herzing University
- Program: Diploma in Medical Assisting, online
- Length: 24 credits, 10 months full-time
- Format: Online classes, plus in-person clinical labs and a 160-hour externship (565 contact hours in total)
- Cost: $12,720 base tuition ($530 per credit), plus a $555 per-semester resource fee
- Accreditation: Institution: Higher Learning Commission. Program accreditation not stated on the page
- Exams and hours: Prepares for the CCMA exam; the school pays the first attempt
Durham Technical Community College
- Program: Medical Assisting AAS, with a diploma after four semesters
- Length: 70 credits for the AAS
- Format: Main campus and online, with evening classes possible
- Cost: $6,978 estimated for tuition, books and fees
- Accreditation: Diploma accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB
- Exams and hours: Graduates can sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam after completing the diploma
Greenfield Community College
- Program: Medical Assistant undergraduate certificate
- Length: 8 months
- Format: Hybrid: most classes online, with labs on campus
- Cost: Not listed on the program page
- Accreditation: Accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB
- Exams and hours: Exam eligibility not stated on the page
Coffeyville Community College
- Program: One-year medical assistant certificate, with an optional two-year associate degree
- Length: 1 year for the certificate
- Format: Hybrid: online coursework and 160 hours of hands-on skills lab
- Cost: About $6,425 for the program
- Accreditation: Accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB
- Exams and hours: Prepares for the CCMA exam; the school reports a 100% pass rate for 2020 to 2024 but not the number of test takers
Kellogg Community College
- Program: Medical Assistant Certificate
- Length: 3 semesters
- Format: Online or hybrid, with weekly in-person labs in some courses
- Cost: Not listed on the program page
- Accreditation: Accredited by CAAHEP; the school also reports a 96.72% retention rate (2020 to 2024)
- Exams and hours: 160-hour practicum; exam pass rates not listed on the page
Southeast Technical College (South Dakota)
- Program: Medical Assistant diploma
- Length: 1 year
- Format: Full-time on campus, hybrid or part-time evenings
- Cost: $282 per credit hour plus fees
- Accreditation: Program accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB; institution accredited by the Higher Learning Commission
- Exams and hours: Graduates are eligible for the CMA (AAMA) exam
South Hills School of Business & Technology (Pennsylvania)
- Program: Medical Assistant Online/Hybrid Diploma
- Length: 13 months
- Format: Online and hybrid at the State College and Altoona campuses
- Cost: Not listed on the program page
- Accreditation: Institution accredited by ACCSC and licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education; program accreditation not stated on the page
- Exams and hours: Includes a 12-week internship; the page names CMA certification as a goal
Ultimate Medical Academy (Florida residents)
- Program: Clinical Medical Assistant diploma or associate degree
- Length: Diploma: 34.5 credits, 11 months. Degree: 61.5 credits, 18 months
- Format: Online with an on-site externship, or blended at the Clearwater, FL campus
- Cost: Listed on a separate tuition page
- Accreditation: Institution accredited by ABHES; program accreditation not stated on the page
- Exams and hours: 180-hour externship; prepares for the CMA, RMA and CCMA exams
Ivy Tech Community College (Indiana)
- Program: Medical Assisting AAS or Technical Certificate
- Length: AAS: 60 credits, 4 semesters. Certificate: 39 credits, 2 to 3 semesters
- Format: Campus-based, with traditional or hybrid courses
- Cost: AAS $10,703. Certificate $6,957. Some certificates may be free for eligible Indiana residents
- Accreditation: Programs accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB at the campuses the school lists
- Exams and hours: Prepares for the CMA (AAMA) exam
Details the schools did not list on their program pages are marked “not listed” instead of guessed. Ask admissions for them.
Programs at a Glance
| Program | Credential | Length | Format |
|---|---|---|---|
| Herzing University | Diploma in Medical Assisting, online | 24 credits, 10 months full-time | Online classes, plus in-person clinical labs and a 160-hour externship (565 contact hours in total) |
| Durham Tech | Medical Assisting AAS, with a diploma after four semesters | 70 credits for the AAS | Main campus and online, with evening classes possible |
| Greenfield CC | Medical Assistant undergraduate certificate | 8 months | Hybrid: most classes online, with labs on campus |
| Coffeyville CC | One-year medical assistant certificate, with an optional two-year associate degree | 1 year for the certificate | Hybrid: online coursework and 160 hours of hands-on skills lab |
| Kellogg CC | Medical Assistant Certificate | 3 semesters | Online or hybrid, with weekly in-person labs in some courses |
| Southeast Tech | Medical Assistant diploma | 1 year | Full-time on campus, hybrid or part-time evenings |
| South Hills | Medical Assistant Online/Hybrid Diploma | 13 months | Online and hybrid at the State College and Altoona campuses |
| Ultimate Medical Academy | Clinical Medical Assistant diploma or associate degree | Diploma: 34.5 credits, 11 months. Degree: 61.5 credits, 18 months | Online with an on-site externship, or blended at the Clearwater, FL campus |
| Ivy Tech | Medical Assisting AAS or Technical Certificate | AAS: 60 credits, 4 semesters. Certificate: 39 credits, 2 to 3 semesters | Campus-based, with traditional or hybrid courses |
Accreditation and Exams at a Glance
| Program | Accreditation (from the school page) | Exam information |
|---|---|---|
| Herzing University | Institution: Higher Learning Commission. Program accreditation not stated on the page | Prepares for the CCMA exam; the school pays the first attempt |
| Durham Tech | Diploma accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB | Graduates can sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam after completing the diploma |
| Greenfield CC | Accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB | Exam eligibility not stated on the page |
| Coffeyville CC | Accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB | Prepares for the CCMA exam; the school reports a 100% pass rate for 2020 to 2024 but not the number of test takers |
| Kellogg CC | Accredited by CAAHEP; the school also reports a 96.72% retention rate (2020 to 2024) | 160-hour practicum; exam pass rates not listed on the page |
| Southeast Tech | Program accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB; institution accredited by the Higher Learning Commission | Graduates are eligible for the CMA (AAMA) exam |
| South Hills | Institution accredited by ACCSC and licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education; program accreditation not stated on the page | Includes a 12-week internship; the page names CMA certification as a goal |
| Ultimate Medical Academy | Institution accredited by ABHES; program accreditation not stated on the page | 180-hour externship; prepares for the CMA, RMA and CCMA exams |
| Ivy Tech | Programs accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB at the campuses the school lists | Prepares for the CMA (AAMA) exam |
Free Medical Assistant Program Comparison Sheet
Step 1. Tap the programs you are considering. Three is plenty.
Step 2. Click any text in the sheet and type to add your own notes.
The facts come from each school’s own program page. Confirm every detail with admissions before you enroll.
My medical assistant program sheet
Facts checked on November 2, 2026
Herzing University
Program: Diploma in Medical Assisting, online
Length: 24 credits, 10 months full-time
Format: Online classes, plus in-person clinical labs and a 160-hour externship (565 contact hours in total)
Cost: $12,720 base tuition ($530 per credit), plus a $555 per-semester resource fee
Accreditation: Institution: Higher Learning Commission. Program accreditation not stated on the page
Exams and hours: Prepares for the CCMA exam; the school pays the first attempt
My notes:
Durham Technical Community College
Program: Medical Assisting AAS, with a diploma after four semesters
Length: 70 credits for the AAS
Format: Main campus and online, with evening classes possible
Cost: $6,978 estimated for tuition, books and fees
Accreditation: Diploma accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB
Exams and hours: Graduates can sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam after completing the diploma
My notes:
Greenfield Community College
Program: Medical Assistant undergraduate certificate
Length: 8 months
Format: Hybrid: most classes online, with labs on campus
Cost: Not listed on the program page
Accreditation: Accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB
Exams and hours: Exam eligibility not stated on the page
My notes:
Coffeyville Community College
Program: One-year medical assistant certificate, with an optional two-year associate degree
Length: 1 year for the certificate
Format: Hybrid: online coursework and 160 hours of hands-on skills lab
Cost: About $6,425 for the program
Accreditation: Accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB
Exams and hours: Prepares for the CCMA exam; the school reports a 100% pass rate for 2020 to 2024 but not the number of test takers
My notes:
Kellogg Community College
Program: Medical Assistant Certificate
Length: 3 semesters
Format: Online or hybrid, with weekly in-person labs in some courses
Cost: Not listed on the program page
Accreditation: Accredited by CAAHEP; the school also reports a 96.72% retention rate (2020 to 2024)
Exams and hours: 160-hour practicum; exam pass rates not listed on the page
My notes:
Southeast Technical College (South Dakota)
Program: Medical Assistant diploma
Length: 1 year
Format: Full-time on campus, hybrid or part-time evenings
Cost: $282 per credit hour plus fees
Accreditation: Program accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB; institution accredited by the Higher Learning Commission
Exams and hours: Graduates are eligible for the CMA (AAMA) exam
My notes:
South Hills School of Business & Technology (Pennsylvania)
Program: Medical Assistant Online/Hybrid Diploma
Length: 13 months
Format: Online and hybrid at the State College and Altoona campuses
Cost: Not listed on the program page
Accreditation: Institution accredited by ACCSC and licensed by the Pennsylvania Department of Education; program accreditation not stated on the page
Exams and hours: Includes a 12-week internship; the page names CMA certification as a goal
My notes:
Ultimate Medical Academy (Florida residents)
Program: Clinical Medical Assistant diploma or associate degree
Length: Diploma: 34.5 credits, 11 months. Degree: 61.5 credits, 18 months
Format: Online with an on-site externship, or blended at the Clearwater, FL campus
Cost: Listed on a separate tuition page
Accreditation: Institution accredited by ABHES; program accreditation not stated on the page
Exams and hours: 180-hour externship; prepares for the CMA, RMA and CCMA exams
My notes:
Ivy Tech Community College (Indiana)
Program: Medical Assisting AAS or Technical Certificate
Length: AAS: 60 credits, 4 semesters. Certificate: 39 credits, 2 to 3 semesters
Format: Campus-based, with traditional or hybrid courses
Cost: AAS $10,703. Certificate $6,957. Some certificates may be free for eligible Indiana residents
Accreditation: Programs accredited by CAAHEP on the recommendation of MAERB at the campuses the school lists
Exams and hours: Prepares for the CMA (AAMA) exam
My notes:
Questions to ask every school
- Is the medical assisting program itself accredited by CAAHEP or ABHES?
- How many externship hours are required, and who finds the site?
- What is the full cost, including books, fees, exams and supplies?
- Which certification exam does the program prepare me for, and is the fee included?
- What are the exam pass rate and the number of test takers?
To save your sheet: press Ctrl+P (Windows) or Cmd+P (Mac) and choose Save as PDF. Only the sheet prints. To copy it, select the text inside the sheet and press Ctrl+C or Cmd+C.
Medical Assistant Career Facts From the BLS
| Fact (BLS, medical assistants) | Figure |
|---|---|
| Median pay (May 2025) | $45,690 a year ($21.97 an hour) |
| Typical entry-level education | Postsecondary nondegree award |
| Jobs (2025) | About 833,900 |
| Job outlook, 2025 to 2035 | 13% growth, much faster than average |
| Projected new jobs, 2025 to 2035 | About 107,600 |
| Openings each year, on average | About 109,700 |
The BLS says medical assistants interview patients, record medical histories, measure vital signs, assist with exams, collect lab specimens and handle scheduling and records. It lists analytical skills, communication, compassion, attention to detail and interpersonal skills as important qualities. These are national figures, and pay varies by state, employer and setting.
What Accreditation Means
Two kinds of accreditation matter. Institutional accreditation covers the whole school, and the Higher Learning Commission and ACCSC are examples. Programmatic accreditation covers one program, and CAAHEP, working with MAERB, is the one for medical assisting. ABHES also accredits health education schools.
The AAMA says graduates of CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited medical assisting programs can qualify for the CMA (AAMA) exam. Students can apply once classroom coursework is finished, and recent graduates must apply within 12 months of graduating. Always ask whether the medical assisting program itself holds the accreditation, not only the school.
How to Choose a Medical Assistant Program
- Start with your state. The BLS says some states require an accredited program, licensure or certification.
- Check program accreditation. Ask for the accreditor’s name and confirm it with the accreditor.
- Add up the full cost. Include books, fees, exams, uniforms and travel to labs.
- Plan the externship. Ask how many hours you need and who finds the site.
- Match the exam to your goals. Ask which certification the program prepares you for and whether the fee is included.
Mistakes to Avoid
- Trusting “nationally accredited” alone. Ask which accreditor and whether it covers the program.
- Ignoring in-person requirements. Online programs still need labs and an externship.
- Comparing tuition only. Fees, books and exams add up.
- Believing pass rates without numbers. Ask how many people took the exam and in what year.
- Skipping your state’s rules. Requirements differ by state.
Program Choice Checklist
Tick each item as you finish. You are ready to apply when the counter reaches 10.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can I become a medical assistant entirely online?
No. Online programs teach the coursework online, but they still require in-person clinical labs, a practicum or an externship, such as Herzing’s 160-hour externship or Kellogg’s 160-hour practicum.
How long do medical assistant programs take?
The BLS says postsecondary programs usually take 1 to 2 years. The programs above range from 8 months for a certificate to 18 months for an associate degree, according to each school.
Do I need an accredited program?
Check your state’s rules. The BLS says some states require graduation from an accredited program, licensure or certification. Also, the AAMA lets graduates of CAAHEP- or ABHES-accredited medical assisting programs sit for the CMA (AAMA) exam.
What is the difference between CAAHEP and institutional accreditation?
CAAHEP accredits individual allied health programs, on the recommendation of MAERB for medical assisting. Accreditors such as the Higher Learning Commission and ACCSC accredit the whole school. Ask whether the medical assisting program itself is accredited.
Which program is the best?
The best one depends on your state, budget and schedule. Compare accreditation, total cost, externship hours and exam preparation, then use the comparison sheet above.
Is certification required?
The BLS says most states do not require it, but employers may prefer or require it. Some employers also ask for Basic Life Support certification.
Which certification exams do these programs prepare for?
The schools above mention the CCMA from the National Healthcareer Association, the CMA from the AAMA and, at one school, the RMA. Ask which exam your program prepares you for and whether the fee is included.
How much does a program cost?
The costs these schools list range from about $6,425 to $12,720 for their medical assisting programs. Ask for the full cost, including books, fees, exams and supplies.
What is an externship or practicum?
It is supervised, hands-on training in a real clinic or medical office. Ask how many hours are required and whether the school finds your site or you do.
What should I ask before I enroll?
Ask whether the program itself is accredited, how many externship hours you need, what the full cost is, which exam you will be prepared for and what the exam pass rate is, including how many people took it.
Final Thoughts
The right medical assistant program is accredited, fits your budget and schedule, and prepares you for the exam employers ask for. Use the facts above, ask each school the same questions and write down the answers before you decide.
Related Reading
- Online medical terminology courses
- Medical billing and coding courses
- Online dental assistant programs
- Medical assistant cover letter with no experience
Sources: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Outlook Handbook: Medical Assistants (May 2025 pay; 2025 to 2035 outlook); AAMA, CMA (AAMA) exam eligibility. School program pages: Herzing University; Durham Technical Community College; Greenfield Community College; Coffeyville Community College; Kellogg Community College; Southeast Technical College; South Hills School of Business & Technology; Ultimate Medical Academy; Ivy Tech Community College.
